Gluten Free Scotch Eggs

I never knew how hard gluten free is! Everything that I eat contained gluten so when I was making scotch eggs for my colleagues at work including somebody who could not eat gluten, I was definitely running around Tesco like a headless chicken. The usual pack of sausage meat that I buy contained gluten! Who knew? I didn’t. When I think about it I suppose they need to use some sort of binding agent to hold the meat together.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that a brand called HECK does a great range of sausages. It’s important to note that their sausages contain the highest % of pork. It’s quite scary to think what sausages contain when you see some ‘pork’ sausages containing as little as 40%! Tesco also have an expanding Freeform range accommodating for all types of people with food intolerances, which was great for GF breadcrumbs and flour.

Scroll down for the recipe

Scotch Eggs

 

Here is what I needed (I attached the links to the products I used too):

  1. Gluten free flour
  2. Gluten free breadcrumbs
  3. 7 medium sized eggs
  4. Gluten free sausage meat
  5. Salt
  6. Herbs and spices (Pepper, Parsley, Paprika, Herbes de Provence)
  7. Oil for frying (I used coconut)

Here is what I did:

  1. Preheat oven to 200C
  2. Split sausage meat into 6 portions (~65g of meat for each egg is good) and flatten.
  3. Season each flattened disk of sausage meat with whatever you like (I used what I had on hand and proved to work well before in the past: Salt, Pepper, Paprika, Dried Parsley and Herbes de Provence) and store in fridge whilst you do the next 3 steps.
  4. Boil the eggs for 5 minutes (In hindsight I would’ve boiled them for 4 to get a slightly runnier egg, boil to your egg preference).
  5. Put eggs straight into ice water to stop the eggs from cooking further.
  6. Peel eggs
  7. Lay out 3 bowls, one with a beaten egg, one with flour and one with breadcrumbs.
  8. Coat each boiled egg with flour and wrap each flattened portion of sausage meat around the egg, the first few times are a bit awkward but you’ll eventually get the hang of it. I usually flatten the portions of sausage meat quite a bit, place the egg in the middle and the fold the meat over the egg, pinch the sides over and smooth it around the egg.
  9. Coat the sausage wrapped egg with the beaten egg and dip into breadcrumbs.
  10. Optional step: Heat up frying pan with oil, on medium heat, fry the eggs just until they are golden brown on the outside (you can skip this step if you want, however I just wanted the eggs to have some colour as the breadcrumbs did not brown in the oven)
  11. Bake for around 30 minutes.

I cut all the eggs in half, cooled to room temperature and stored in the fridge. The next morning, I put all the eggs yolk down onto a lined baking sheet into a 220C preheated oven for about 10 minutes and served the eggs for breakfast.

Btw, I also won best bake for my scotch eggs at my university’s Baking Society.

Leave a Reply

